If your child has overactive bladder problems due to a nervous system condition (such as spina bifida), then he or she might be interested in participating in a clinical research trial for young people with neurogenic overactive bladder – medically known as “Neurogenic Detrusor Overactivity” or “NDO”.

NDO can sometimes result in:

  • Difficulty staying dry during the day or night
  • Experiencing a feeling of urgency — a sudden and unexpected need to immediately urinate
  • Having to use a tube (catheter) to empty all urine from the bladder

Your child may be eligible to participate in a clinical research trial.

Parexel is conducting a clinical research trial in children
between 6 and 16 years old, weighing over 25 kgs (55 lbs), who have NDO. The study lasts for 26 weeks. It involves at least 5 clinic visits, and you and your child would receive at least 4 additional contacts from the doctor’s study team.

Study participants will receive study drugs at no cost and may receive compensation for travel to medical appointments.

For more information:

Please download the brochure in english and en español, or contact the study coordinator in the state nearest you. (see below)

Study Sites

CONNECTICUT

Sherell Thornton-Thompson

Study Coordinator

sthornt@ccmckids.org

Connecticut Children’s Medical Center

282 Washington Street

Hartford, CT 06106

860-837-5882

FLORIDA

Michelle Ponce

Study Coordinator

Michelle.Ponce@nemours.org

Arnold Palmer Medical Center

13535 Nemours Parlkway

Orlando, FL 32827

407-650-7175

ILLINOIS

Janet Rindels

Study Coordinator

Jrindels@Lumc.edu

Loyola University Medical Center

2160 South First Avenue Building 54, Room 067

Maywood, IL 60153

708-216-2057

GEORGIA

Rian Thornton

Study Coordinator

Rian.Thornton@Choa.org

Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta

1001 Johnson Ferry Road

Atlanta, GA 30342

404-785-2781

OHIO

Monica Swank

Study Coordinator

mswank@chmca.org

Akron Children’s Hospital

One Perkins Square

Akron, OH 44308

330-543-0460

Melissa Reed

Study Coordinator

Melissa.Reed1@Cchmc.org

Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

3333 Burnet Avenue

MLC 5037

Cincinnati, OH 45229

513-803-0053

WISCONSIN

Melissa Christensen

Study Coordinator

machristensen@chw.org

Children’s Hospital Of Wisconsin

999 North 92nd Street, Suite C330

Milwaukee, WI 53226

414-266-6551